Type to search


Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Difficulty Options Explained

Square Enix’s upcoming action role-playing game, Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, is set to feature some flexible difficulty options. If you’re looking to find out which difficulty setting is right for you, read ahead.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth will offer a total of three difficulty options, each of which will serve a different purpose according to the requirements and expectations from players. This setting can be changed at any time during a playthrough, therefore all three of them can be tried out before settling for the one that is right for you.

Final fantasy vii rebirth difficulty options

Which Final Fantasy VII Rebirth Difficulty Setting Is Right For You

Following are the difficulty options that will be available in Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, and what kind of experience one should expect from them.


The Easy difficulty setting in Final Fantasy VII Rebirth is for players who are looking to enjoy the story without any notable hurdles in terms of gameplay. As a result, those who pick this difficulty setting should expect to deal more damage to enemies and take less damage from them in combat. Additionally, the Active Time Battle (ATB) gauge will fill up quicker than in the other two modes, giving you frequent access to powerful spells and abilities. Should the combat still feel a little overwhelming, you can also opt to switch to the Classic combat style, where actions are performed automatically, allowing you to focus on the tactics of battle commands using the ATB gauge.


The Normal difficulty setting is the default option. It offers a balanced experience, where players will get to enjoy the story while also facing some challenging combat encounters. It’s worth mentioning that some uneven difficulty spikes should be expected here and there, as the game will occasionally look to surprise and overwhelm the player, much like in the original 1997 game. Just like in the Easy mode, players will also have the option to switch to the more passive Classic combat style here.


The Dynamic difficulty setting is for players who are looking for a more thrilling and challenging combat experience. Here, enemy’s difficulty level will be automatically adjusted based on your skill level. For all intents and purposes, it’s the Normal difficulty setting with level scaling enabled. This means that enemies will always have the same level as your party. RPG veterans who are well accustomed to level scaling may find this difficulty setting to offer an experience to their liking. It’s worth mentioning that 1999’s Final Fantasy VIII also featured level scaling.

Muhammad Ali Bari

Muhammad Ali Bari has a knack for covering reviews. He manages our content pipeline, creates timelines for scheduled editorial tasks, and helps us cover exciting content. In his spare time, he enjoys playing multiplayer games.

  • 1

You Might also Like